Drunkenness

In Belgium you may be punished if you are drunk in public.

Traffic

If you have more than 0.5 mg of alcohol in your blood and drive (by car, moped or bicycle) you are liable to punishment. The police are always able to test whether you have drunk too much. If so, you receive a fine and you forbidden to drive for at least 3 hours.

If the test shows that you have more than 0.8 per mille in your blood, the punishment will be heavier. Your fine will be higher, you are not allowed to drive for a minimum of 6 hours and you may temporarily lose your driving license.

The law is stricter for professional drivers (drivers of lorries, buses, taxis, ambulances, etc.) They have to adhere to an alcohol limit of 0.2 per mille.

Young people

It is forbidden to serve, sell or offer alcohol to young people under the age of 16. Beer and wine are allowed from 16 years. Strong drinks such as whisky, rum, vodka, etc are only permitted as from the age of 18.

État d’ébriété

En Belgique, toute personne en état d’ébriété dans un endroit public peut être sanctionnée.

Circulation

Le fait de conduire (que ce soit une voiture, un cyclomoteur ou un vélo) avec plus de 0,5 pour mille d’alcool dans le sang constitue une infraction pénale. La police est toujours autorisée à vérifier si vous n’avez pas trop bu. Si le contrôle s’avère positif, vous recevez une amende et vous ne pouvez plus conduire pendant au moins 3 heures.

S’il apparaît du test effectué que vous avez plus de 0,8 pour mille d’alcool dans le sang, la sanction sera plus lourde. Le montant de l’amende sera plus élevé, vous ne pourrez plus conduire pendant au moins 6 heures et votre permis de conduire peut vous être retiré temporairement.

Pour les conducteurs professionnels (chauffeurs de camions, de bus, de taxi, d’ambulance...) la loi est plus sévère. Ils sont en effet tenus de respecter une limite d’alcool fixée à 0,2 pour mille.

Les jeunes

Il est interdit de servir, de vendre ou d’offrir de l’alcool à des jeunes de moins de 16 ans. La bière et le vin sont autorisés à partir de 16 ans. Les alcools forts, comme le whisky, le rhum, la vodka... ne sont autorisés qu’à partir de 18 ans.